Glasgow Round Up

Oh this is such a hard job; I just can’t seem to turn it off. Walking around Glasgow, , one of my friends suggested going to a craft brewery that’s set up around the corner from the Necropolis, which is also something to definitely check out.

Being the hard working writer that I am I agreed that this was a great plan and so away we went to visit DryGate Brewing. This is a joint project between the owners of Tennent’s, the oldest brewery in Scotland, and Williams Bros. Brewery.

This was certainly one of the largest breweries I’ve visited, and it felt like Steamwhistle if there were more options. The staff were exceptionally helpful and understanding as I stared blankly at the dozens of potential drinks. Everything I sampled was quite good but I ended up trying three, one there for lunch and two more that I got from their amazingly varied bottle shop.

mango-fandango

Disco Forklift Mango

This pale ale was my first try. There’s a lot going on here, and it makes quite a statement, from the brightly coloured can to the mouthful of a name.  This clocks in at 5.1% and just instantly strikes me as one of the greatest summer beers out there. There was a lot of fruit flavours going on, and it was very citrusy and refreshing without the accompanying bitterness of an IPA. I didn’t get mango flavours per say, but it was not shy on fruitiness.

Bottle Shop.jpg

Orinoco Breakfast Stout

I’m terribly sorry dear readers but I forgot to take a picture of this delicious beer before trying it. This stout uses artisanal coffee grown in Santa Maria, Colombia to help give the strong coffee flavours. I feel like I say this after every stout I review but this is the darkest I’ve ever seen. This is like a black dog on a black night in military camouflage.

There’s a lot of coffee smells, not that surprising in a breakfast stout that uses coffee. There’s also like a peanut butter scent, or a thick sweetness, so maybe molasses. It is one of the best smelling beers I’ve reviewed for sure. After a taste the coffee fades a little bit and there’s more of a chocolate taste with some unexpected citrus. This was my first breakfast stout so I don’t know if I have much to compare it to but it is certainly worth a try if you’re a fan of dark beers.

quelle

Beavertown Brewery’s Quelle 

The bottle room at DryGate had craft beers from several other breweries around, one of them happened to be Beavertown, a London based brewery. I didn’t realize this at the time and it turned out to be a happy mistake.

Like many other cans in the room this one has a pretty interesting design, in this case a man being attacked with planes. When you pour it out you see that this is a pretty cloudy yellow beer, it reminds me of some of the sours I’ve tried before. There’s a tall white head, that’ll stay for a while.

This is such a citrusy beer that it’s basically just a liquefied grapefruit.  It also smells really clean, which I’ve also said before but I really mean it here, it smells like a clean room, just a satisfying smell. The citrus taste continues, and it’s very enjoyable, not cancelled by any strong bitter notes. The bitter in this beer is quite light and just kind of lingers in the back of your mouth. This is a great seasonal beer, and something to grab for a summer.

One thought on “Glasgow Round Up

  1. Pingback: Ready, set, whoa: A Gee-Gee’s guide to the U.K. (chapter three) - The Fulcrum

Leave a Reply

