This Review Was Aged for 70 days in an Oak Barrel : Innis & Gunn Fired Oak Scotch Ale

I know I have been disappointing all three of my die hard fans with my abscence. But I’m back with a treat. The limited edition Innis & Gunn Fired Oak Scotch Ale. So fancy that it even comes in a box. Like the rest of the Innis & Gunn offerings it is oak barrel aged, the Fired oak Scotch Ale was matured for 70 days, and clocks in a impressive 7.0% ABV.

Innis&Gunn FOSA 2.jpg

Diving in, the beer is deep gold in colour.The nose has notes of oak, and a distinct sweetness. It has a balanced smooth taste, it is a good easy to drink ale despite the ABV. How ever it is quite sweet, with a candied taste. The finish lingers and is warm and soft.

The Fired Oak Scotch Ale is if anything too sweet and too smooth, while I wasn’t expecting a smoky beer, as that would just be bizarre, I was not expecting a beer this sweet.I would suggest instead the Innis & Gunn Toasted Oak Ale. Or go check out David’s review on Innis & Gunn Original here.

Keep Those Bottoms up,

Liam Montgomery

 

Leave a Reply

